Solved

Best Practice for Tracking Other Users' Entitlements/Subscription State

• 18 February 2022
  • 10 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge +4

I have a subscription tier in my iOS app. I understand how to access `purchaserInfo` to check if the current user has the entitlement associated with this tier. However, I would like to display a badge on all user icons for other subscribers in the app - a little like the ‘verified’ badges on a Twitter account image.

Clearly I need to store something server-side on my own user objects to track this, but I’m not sure what approach to take. Perhaps each user’s status should be saved to the server by my app as their entitlements change, and other instances use this saved user flag? But entitlements can change when the app isn’t being used, such as cancelled or expired subscriptions. My backend will have no knowledge of that change, so that use will continue to be displayed as a subscriber until and unless the launch the app again.

Any suggestions on a good approach for this? 

icon

Best answer by Miguel Carranza 21 February 2022, 04:17

View original

10 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +6

Hi Ben!

I think the most straight forward approach to achieve this would be to leverage our webhooks. RevenueCat would send a notification to your server every time there is an event related to the subscription lifecycle (renewal, cancellation, expiration...). This way you should be able to keep the status of all your subscribers up to date server side, without the need for the subscriber to open the app

Userlevel 1
Badge +4

Thanks Miguel. I’m using Parse Server and I’m not much of a backend engineer, so I’m not sure that’s going to be an option for me. I don’t suppose there’s a way to fetch this same set of changes periodically? I do have access to what Parse calls cloud code, jobs I can run at a set time.