SDK and API should have direct analogs?

• 19 June 2023
  • 5 replies

Badge +4

I’m somewhat new to this and not a seasoned developer. My app has iOS/Android versions and now a web version. For the web version I’m using the RevenueCat REST API and trying to implement the same functionality as in the mobile versions via the SDK.

It seems that while there are similar functionalities between them, but the contents, format, and structure of the response is different. Specifically, I am looking at the following:
SDK: Purchases.shared.getCustomerInfo

API: Get or Create Subscriber (GET v1/subscribers/{app_user_id})

These two items appear to be analogs to get a customer/subscriber. However there is substantially improved information available in the SDK version. For example, the SDK indicates which subscriptions/entitlements are active, whereas in the API I need to manually determine this based on the full list of subscriptions (subscriber.subscriptions.{product_id}.{expires_date}. 

Has anyone else had the same issue, or am I approaching things incorrectly. 

5 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +7

Hi @op-gg-makingcoolapps . The SDKs use exactly this REST API endpoint under the hood, so you will be able to derive all of the information from that response. (For example, to derive active entitlements / subscriptions, they do the exact filtering you described)

We are working on improved REST APIs that will make consuming that information easier, but it’ll take some time for these new REST APIs to be available.

Badge +4