Solved

allowSharingAppStoreAccount deprecated -> Configure in dashboard... but where?

• 21 July 2021
  • 4 replies

Badge +2

Hi, 

I’m new to RevenueCat and I’m in the process of refactoring a piece of code using the ‘allowSharingAppStoreAccount’ function. 

The documentation says:

allowSharingAppStoreAccount

DEPRECATED

Configure behavior through the RevenueCat dashboard instead.

I’ve looked everywhere in the dashboard, but can’t find any setting that would seem to relate to this?

Also, I’m unsure exactly what this function does: is it for instance in case someone creates several accounts in the app with, say, different email addresses, but has a single App Store account?

Thanks to anyone who takes the time to help!

icon

Best answer by ryan 21 July 2021, 23:55

View original

4 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +9

Hey @Sofia CHEVROLAT 👋

Sorry for the confusion there! This setting has been moved to a server-side configuration we’ve labeled “Restore Behavior” under your app settings.

If you select your app from the dropdown in the dashboard, click on the “Settings” pane, you should see this configuration right below your API key.

More info: https://docs.revenuecat.com/docs/restoring-purchases

EDIT:

Sorry I didn’t see the second part of that question:

Also, I’m unsure exactly what this function does: is it for instance in case someone creates several accounts in the app with, say, different email addresses, but has a single App Store account?

Correct! If someone purchased from multiple accounts within your app, but they shared the same App Store account, RevenueCat would merge the App User IDs together (alias) and treat them as the same customer going forward.

Turns out, a lot of developers didn’t prefer this behavior, so we introduced this new server-side configuration to give you more flexibility over how these are handled.