Question

What happens to historical purchase data when deleting a customer?

  • 10 May 2023
  • 2 replies
  • 30 views

Badge +5

If I delete a subscriber via the api, what happens to their historical purchase data? Is it still available in reports or exports somehow, or is it just erased from our stats? I would imagine the answer is the same if deleted via the dashboard instead of the API, but please mention if it’s different.


2 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +8

When a subscriber is deleted, their historical purchase data is also deleted. This is true whether you delete them via the API or dashboard. Do note that if the subscriber creates another account with their same Apple/Google app store account, then they can restore purchases to re-create this purchase data on our end.

Badge +5

When a subscriber is deleted, their historical purchase data is also deleted.

What is the correct way, then, to delete a subscriber for GDPR purposes, but to keep our revenue data accurate?

 

Reply